Petrichor

I love my life in the Pacific Northwest.  With the mountains, lakes, coasts and stream. The greenery. Yes, we have a lot of rain, but rain chases away polution.  The more rain we have the clearer the air we breath. And the lack of sun we have here, is actually a benefit for younger looking skin.

During my lunch break today, I went out and feel the fresh air and the wind and I exhaled as much as I could. I love that feeling and it really calms my mind.

The best memory I have about rain is my childhood. I used to bike in the rain, running around with my mouth open, or standing under rain catcher.

  We used to live in a satelite city in the middle of Sumatran jungle and our home was surrounded by big trees.My favorite one is sitting at my parent’s porch watching the rain and smell the ground. There is a sweetness of it hard to explain but it makes me relax. It’s Petrichor which comes  from Greek word  petros mean stone and ichor, the fluid that flows in the veins of the gods in Greek mythology, is the name of the scent of rain on dry earth.

Take time today to take a break and enjoy your surroundings.

