Vintage Affair

“What I really love about them is the fact that they contain someone’s personal history. I find myself wondering about their lives. I can never look at a garment without thinking about the woman who owned it. How old was she? Did she work? Was she married? Was she happy? I look at these exquisite shoes, and I imagine the woman who owned them rising out of them or kissing someone. I look at a little hat like this, I lift up the veil, and I try to imagine the face beneath it. When you buy a piece of vintage clothing you’re not just buying the fabric and thread – you’re buying a piece of someone’s past”. How true. I love vintage clothes. Every dress has a history. I like to imagine the story behind each piece. Who wore it, where did she wear it, and who did she meet? Was it her favorite hat? It’s like a mystery. I feel the tingle of excitement each time I snap up fairytale dresses in vintage stores. To me nothing looks more in vogue than what was considered passé. There’s a sophistication in vintage clothing. It celebrates being a woman with poise and inner enigma. It’s very powerful. It also brings high quality, eclectic clothing for woman who loves to be graceful. But the real value of vintage clothes may be the fact that we are developing our eyes for quality. I am in love with my newfound vintage pieces. The white skirt, lacy slip on, chain belt and  bracelet. To play around a little bit, I wore Swedish-made winter boots that is a bit more retro. 20111206-221657.jpg 20111206-221800.jpg 20111206-221811.jpg

One thought on “Vintage Affair

Leave a Reply

