Mother’s Love

A mother’s love for her child is like nothing else in the world. It knows no law, no pity, it dares all things and crushes down remorselessly all that stands in its path.”

My daughter is my treasure. She makes me want to be a better person. I have to be, for her. And we’ve been through so much together.

But this year especially, is an amazing year for us. Our relationship has blossomed.

Since she was a little child we did a lot of fun things together. Looking at fashion magazines, playing barbie dolls, went shopping, climbing trees, swimming and cooking.

One of her favorites must be putting her in a big bucket filled with water and gave her my home made ice coffee.

My favorite is playing travel. It’s an educational game for her but I made it fun. We pretended that we are going to Paris to see the Eiffel Tower and going to England to meet Queen Elizabeth. We got into the closet and pretended we were in an airplane. This game allows her to learn about other countries, its monuments and leaders. A few years later we went to Europe together and went to all the places we talked about in our game.

I remember teaching her cooking a special meal from our region, curry beef. Put her on a chair and let her hold the ladle to steer the curry beef. I taught her about taking care of her skin from a very young age. How to deal with boys. How to respect her self.

I believe the best way to teach my daughter is leading by example. I’m not a perfect mom but I’m trying my best. I made some mistakes along the way but I am a work in progress.

And I believe the best way to love her is to accept her for who she is and always be there for her when she falls. Never try to fit her into a perfect image of a person. She is a unique individual and I accept her for who she is.

I mostly don’t believe in spanking and screaming.

Now, she has grown to be a woman, an independent one. I am so proud of her. I continue to offer value in life. To teach her new things that are exciting.

Lately, I have been sharing my passion in vintage shopping with her and what a great time we had doing that. It teaches her to appreciate the kind of fashion from the past and the beauty in it. The hunting proces, the appreciation of quality items that are rare and unique.

Taking trips to different parts of town, enjoying brunch and looking for antique furnitures, decorating.

During the Holiday season, I taught her to focus on buying from smaller shops, less popular malls and we found out that it was so much less stressful. It teaches her creative thinking and finding options in life, to choose what’s best for her.

I also shared with her some cooking tips as we cooked together. Now she knows how to make some really special Indonesian dish.

I will continue to introduce her to many things in life and I am so excited about it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

